Which way to go?

Dav8rman

Super Trooper.
So it takes a lot of courage to come out in front of everyone and admit your mistakes - but I need advice at this point in my life/career - so here goes :)

I was 19 - had been instructing for a little over a month - and made a mistake on one of my students endorsement. A week later I was let go from my position :( In hindsight, it was a mistake that could have easily been averted - but it happened. I've been instructing with my current employer for almost 4 years and have an excellent record here - I would like to think I took steps to make up for the mistake I made when I was younger, but I don't think anything I do will completely make up for it. That mistake combined with my 2 checkride failures (CFI- ground, Multi - flight) have made me unemployable it seems.

I interviewed with a reputable regional a few months ago - made it through the interview, got a pre-offer, but two months down the road received the 'thanks, but no thanks' letter. Turned out I didn't make it through the captains review board - and although the letter didn't say why I wasn't hired - It was certainly not because of my performance on the interview(got the offer after the interview ^ :). Its hard to say exactly what it could've have been - but there is a fairly good chance it was because of my past. I've heard of people getting hired with dui's, criminal records, but I haven't heard of many instructors with a situation/past similar to mine - It would be nice to hear if anyone has insight into this situation.