Giving Back, Effeciently. Any ideas?

Propilot

So now that I'm in a somewhat stable job I would like to give back. Anyone got some good ideas about how to do that efficiently? I don't want to just feel good and waste time. I started volunteering at the local animal shelter but then thought that was stupid since there are plenty of teenagers who an walk dogs. I should be using my experience in a more meaningful way...something that leverages my experience.

I'm a 121 pilot. I don't have a ton of free time with all my other commitments but I should be able to give about 1 day a week.

I was thinking about giving presentations about being a pilot to local schools. K-12 and maybe even aviation colleges although I doubt I would be invited back (to the colleges) after I gave them the straight poop on it.

I was an Eagle Scout, but I do not agree with their religious and homophobic policies and thus don't want to associate with them.

I also thought about Big Brothers Big Sisters, although the liability there scares me.

Anyway. Thoughts? I value my time, so Im not just looking for a resume builder, I actually want to do some good and leverage my effort to maximize its effect. No dog walking.

....thanks

Do what speaks to YOU.

it doesn't matter if it's somehing a lot of people already do, or if it's cloche. Find something you are passionate about and apply your efforts there.

I'm not sure if there is any "I'm doing this to look good on my resume" in your intent. But one of the things I took away from the United FFD open house was that the airlines aren't looking for people who volunteer so they know they are hiring a good person. Instead they are trying to find people who are passionate about somehing other than flying airplanes. They don't want you to just check a volunteeer box, they want you to have an interest in something that is strong enough that it makes you want to get involved.

Do what speaks to YOU.