Possible to be Too Cautious/Conservative?

barchaim

Good morning everyone. I felt like this might be the right place to post this to ask a bunch of CFIs. You can delete or move it to another place if its not appropriate.

I'm a new flight student, a little under 20 hours flight time. Yesterday for my scheduled flight lesson, conditions were ok to fly in (technically). We had broken at 3000 ft, visibility 6 sm, with winds from 270 at 22 kts gusting to 29, and some very light rain. The runway we use is 26. These were stronger winds than I've flown in so far

Instructor: "So should we fly today?"
Me: "Well it's within the crosswind max for our plane, but its not great weather. If I was flying on my own, I probably wouldn't fly. I'd just wait for weather to clear up a bit or go the next day. Then again I don't have a ton of experience yet."
Instructor: "So what's your call?"
Me: "No, I'd rather not today. What do you think?"
Instructor: "I think that's an ok call. This is just below my own personal minimums, and I worry about the fresh rain on the runway. I think you could handle the wind. (we're doing a lot of pattern practice right now) There's only one other plane up there flying in the pattern anyways, so its ok to just do a ground today instead."

((another instructor returns from his flight in the middle of our ground lesson)

Other instructor: "What? You didn't fly today? Why not? It was fine out there!" ((womp womp))

My questions for the group here are a few:

(1) How far should I push myself, at this point of training, to experience flying in more adverse weather conditions?
(2) How will I find out my own personal minimums without flying in conditions that are adverse?
(3) Is it possible to be too cautious or conservative in my training?
(4) Am I overthinking this?