What did I get myself into???

Joshua Burke

jburke614
Hello Everyone,

I need a little advice here. I'm an up and coming pilot looking to join the airlines eventually. I'm Commercial ASEL/AMEL with an instrument rating and have the ability to obtain the wonderful RATP with my degree. However, due to my lack of night and multi time I'm gonna be forced to find a small time job until I get it. I've been doing the whole aerial survey thing for about a year and a half now which has given me the TT, XC, and PIC for the cert. My question is do any of you know of any decent paths to take from here on out other than outright paying for block time? Being a survey pilot isn't the most stable way to save money for that situation. I have been hired on by a company by the name of SeaPort Airlines. I've gone through the ground school, but have yet to start flying for them. These guys want a contracted commitment of 1 year beginning when I get in the plane. The completion of said year will put me close to the expiration of my ATP written in 2016. This is basically turning me away, oh and it's all single turbine time (C-208's). Any advice/information is appreciated guys, thanks!!!

So what are the terms of this contracted commitment they are requesting you agree to?

I take it you do not have a CFI or MEI? How much night and multi time are you lacking?

So what are the terms of this contracted commitment they are requesting you agree to?

@surreal1221

Unless it has changed recently, it is a $7500 flight training contract that starts to be prorated after 6 months. I don't remember all the details exactly, but I do know that your last paycheck is used against the remaining balance if you leave before the year is up leaving guys without income for several weeks if they change jobs.

Hello Everyone,