The FAA needs to seriously rethink the CTI program

Rontux

First off, I know this is CTI based, but that forum is dead, and I know there are a lot of CTI-college guys on here, and I wanted to at least share some of my opinion. I graduated from Purdue University in August. I am still waiting to hear back from my school. The FAA does not have my information, and I was told it may take up to 36 months to get hired. Perhaps.

-A LITTLE BACKGROUND-

From what I have researched (I was NOT taught this in school), the CTI program originally was implemented to help the FAA cope with the mass-exit of controllers that was supposed to occur around now; the Reagan era guys. When you think about it, that makes plenty of sense. Never before was the workforce in such a weird state; nearly everyone is the same age. The FAA was worried, so they wanted a way to find a ton of new people to hire. They decided, well hey, this is not a bad career, and quite frankly, I am sure some people would actually pay their own money to train for it. Keep in mind that prior to the CTI programs, it was ALL government paid training (think Oklahoma City. I will call that OKC). After all, doctors, lawyers, professors, or whatever, need to pay for their education too. Pilots, too, of course. So that was the FAAs bottom mission statement for the CTI program: Let the students pay for their own training to be air traffic controllers in the USA. While they would still need to be check/trained by a federal agency, there would be a significant benefit to these kids, since they would have had prior experience in the training.

In addition to this, the CTI schools were also kind of 'proxies' for the FAA, making sure people were qualified; both mentally, physically, and academically.

So on paper, everyone wins. The students pay for their education to a great career. The schools make extra money. The FAA finds its replacements. Life is good.