Please HELP!!!! I need Insight

NY ATC

Ok here is my situation. I took the ATCer test off the street about a year ago. I passed everything went through I received a job offer at ZNY (new york center – level 12 facility). I am currently a police officer with 3yrs on the force, right now where I am top pay is 100grand, I also receive unlimited sick time, benefits for life (after I retire as well), 20yr retirement at 50%. If I should ever get sick and I’m out for a yr lets say I will be at home getting paid because of my unlimited sick no questioned asked. So now I have a decision to make do I take this ATC job and try it out or not. I love aviation as well, I been flying airplanes since I been 14yrs old. But my main concern is I know the wash out rate is very high at ZNY and that could be me (lets just say its that possibility) and I could lose everything I have now just for trying out this new job. Also what would happen lets say I have 10-15yrs on as a Air Traffic Controller and I can no longer pass an FAA medical, do they fire me am I out of a job, do I get a pay cut, etc. I guess what I’m asking is any insight on what you would do if you were in my shoes, etc. If anyone is out that that is an ATCer and was a former police officer your input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again…

Good Luck with the choice, Stability is important but would you be happy being an officer for 20 years (17? Left) and then doing something else, like getting your CFI and then entertaining the aviation interest while not being dependant on income. It’s a choice that is going to be hard but if your changing careers and your close to the cutoff age for the ATC play it safe, if not go big or go home.

That is a good question about the medical. what happen if for some reason you can't pass the medical? Are the ATC medicals like the airmen pilot medicals? Once a year? Are they done my a AME?