Looking for some advice!

RM7599

Here is my short story. I just turned 29 a few days ago, and I have a bachelors degree in Finance. I simply do not enjoy what I currently do as an occupation. I have always had an interest in aviation, and am only a few hours away from my ppl. I am considering pursuing commercial aviation, in hopes of flying for the airlines one day. I'm not married, no kids, and I have the money to pay for all my training, regardless of where I choose. With the state of the industry, is this a likely goal. Thanks for your time!

in my opinion, it sounds like you're set up about perfect. If you can afford the training, and you essentially have no strings... you'll be sitting pretty financially out of flight training, and also able to move where the work dictates. If you want it, I say go for it... just make sure you want it.

I'm 29, switching gears and have stepped into aviation. So head up into the blue skies. I am married with two boys, and have full support from my family. The biggest question I asked myself is "what am I giving up to persue this"? Ask yourself that, and go from there.

I'm in the same boat as you, except I'm a few years older. I say go for it. They'll tell you that the airline industry is so cyclical, and they're right, but tell me something. Would it be better to have been put on furlough by one of the legacy carriers, or to have lost your job in the finance department at WorldCom?

You are set up pretty good right now...I would definately go for it. If you can stay out of debt and can move around with the jobs give it a try. You can always go back to a finance job if it doesn't work out...

Good Luck

Well, I have given myself a deadline to make my decision, so we will see what happens. I pretty sure I'm leaning towards the blue skys!!!

I'd say to all of you guys GO FOR IT !

That's the thing - you can't fly for hire just for money or travel benefits, you have to have a dream to do it.