It's all about the balance. (aviation vs school)

anonymous1

Hi,

I'm a sophomore in college with the goal of becoming a corporate pilot, and I'm finally getting ready to dive into flight training. Besides one hour of flight that I logged in 2007, I have no actual flight time (albeit plenty of Flight Simulator "experience" :rolleyes:). I'm from the Pacific Northwest which has terribly short days and volatile weather during winter, so despite my compulsion to fly NOW:rawk:, I've chosen to wait until March (after DST begins) to start my PPC training.

Here's my main question, which I would imagine has been asked countless times here on Jetcareers (though I couldn't find any related threads myself): Roughly how many flight lessons, and of what length, should I cram in per week during the school year? Obviously this will depend largely on my study habits and level of commitment, but is there any consensus on what is generally too much or too little? I really want to push myself to do the most that I'm capable of. I've heard that flying too infrequently tends to be ineffective, but by spending too much of my time airborne I might not get the most out of each hour either. I'm studying computer science full time, but I'm fortunate to be in a position where I have short classes and I only need to put in about 15 hours of homework per week to perform well, as I already know most of what I'm learning. But I am no slacker, and I'm prepared to put everything I've got into learning to fly.