Getting into the industry

romanerin2011

Hey everyone,

I'm sure many people have posted a thread like this but every situation is different so here goes. I took private lessons around 7 years ago and quit because it was way too expensive. So now I'm 28 years old, married with a little one on the way. I'm a dozer operator at a coal mine and absolutely love my job.

Having said all that I've been dying to get back in the saddle and finish what I started. My dream is to get a part time job at our local regional airport working for a commuter airline. I live in Shreveport, la if that makes any difference. I used to think being an airline pilot was too big for me and I know most will laugh when I say 28 is old but I'm starting to see how fast my life is going by and I want to at least try. Biggest hurdle I see is the ungodly cost of lessons. Does anyone have any first hand experience on what I should do to get there?

I'm having a hard time finding suitable flight schools in Shreveport through Google (have been to Shreveport a few times myself). Do you know what training options you have nearby? I have a few pilot friends in Shreveport, I'll shoot them a message and see what they recommend. If it's your dream, then certainly go for it. However, flight training certainly hasn't come down in cost since you last trained and of course you now have the added responsibility of taking care of a family.

Plan on spending around ~$40-50K for your Commercial training (all depends on the school, aircraft, etc.) , then you have multiple paths to build your ATP minimums (CFI, surveying, freight, etc.). If the pilot shortage rumors are true, you'll hopefully have lots of opportunities once you've logged the hours.

Good luck!