Thinking about the Air Force for ATC

challenger

Hello all,

I am thinking about going to a recruiter and see if I can get ATC guaranteed as a job in the Air Force (I would only go in if its ATC in writing). I do know that it should be something in demand,with people leaving for the FAA and such. I have been having the run around with trying to join the Air Guard for over a half a year now. So I have been thinking maybe I should join in a job that I am really interested in in Active Duty.

As some of you may know I am currently a student at UND. I will be 21 in a few days and am sitting around 30 credits after this semester and am just feeling bored and unfulfilled with college life; money issues have made it so I have been unable to fly airplanes here as well. I took the first ATC class at UND and can honestly say it is the only college class I have enjoyed so far. I do not feel like paying for a lousy education anymore.

Otherwise UND does not seem to be fitting for me. Nothing is tying me down at this point in my life. I would kind of like to see different places, after all Grand Forks is pretty drab. (I understand could get put in a place similar, would not take much to beat here though :whatever:)

I tried AFROTC here and it just did not work out as I had planned. The way I see it if I like the Air Force I could always try for a commission after my enlistment is up. My original goal was to be a pilot in the AF, but I scored poorly on the AFOQT. That is a secondary goal though, because it may never happen; my major goal in life is to be able to live a (monetarily stable) life. I have been poor my entire life and am sick of it, so I want to set myself up for success. Which I mean hey, I like ATC and it definitely is a stable career path compared to some in this day and age. I also want to serve my country at some point.