Hazardous attitude : macho

D-K

Hi everybody

I'm a ground instructor and i am currently working toward my cpl and
i was wondering if the hazardous attitudes : macho would apply to me on my recent IFR flight.

Everybody knows basically the macho attitude is "I can do it" and the antidote is "Taking chances is foolish".

Being a private pilot instrument over 200h tt and about 10h actual time,
i flew IFR solo somewhere it was reported ovc002, i wasn't planning to land there but only shot the approach, go missed and fly back to my departure airport where the ceiling was expected to be ovc007.
My goal on that particular flight was to experience actual IMC.

Most of the people i know wouldn't want to fly that day because of the low ceiling and i guess in a basic 172 with only a single vor/glideslope. I totally understand that. Everybody fly the flights they are comfortable with.

In my opinion, in smooth air, non icing environment, i don't believe there is anything difficult to shoot an ils down to 002 for practice. If for some reason the needles are not aligned, you just go missed, it is as simple as that.
Am I wrong ? Am I thinking with a macho attitudes ?

I believe the biggest probable issue would be an engine failure, gliding, breaking out at 002 and landing on whatever is straight ahead.
Other than that, a vacuum pump failure is still manageable flying partial panel somewhere close.
Spatial disorientation may happen.
There are of course many other factors flying IMC, but with the proper training it is possible to deal with them.

Please post your comment..