Yet another late bloomer.....looking for a little guidance

Flying Crutchman

Hello all--I'm new to the forums and this is by far the best one I've seen.

I'll start with a little background about myself. I have wanted to fly planes since I can remember and I'm finally going to start my PPL:rawk: I'm 26 with a wife and two young kids. I have been an insurance agent for 6 years now. Started out working for my old man then he sold and I kept working for the new owner. He promptly closed down my office and fired everyone in it. Long story short I started for another agency 4 months ago and I realized I hate insurance. He probably did me a favor in the long run though.

I have read many threads on this site and did a search on the importance of a degree. It is apparent that if I ever want to get past the regionals I'll need the paper. I have accepted that as a pre-requisite. I have nearly two years of college credit completed. My ultimate goal is to fly for a nice corporate outfit or a major airline. My plan is to hold down a full-time job (might be insurance, might not be) and get my PPL while working. After I get the PPL I plan to finish my degree in something besides aviation. From there, I'll garner as many hours as possible and maybe become a CFI to help me along with gaining hours. After I obtain enough hours, I plan to apply heavily for a decent flying job.

Here's my question to you JCers: Does my plan look/sound do-able? What would you change if it were you? What would you do different? Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated. Sorry for the long first post.

--Crutch

Re: Yet another late bloomer.....looking for a little guidan

Aloha! Welcome to the forum...Sounds like a great plan, but my first bit of advice...start working on the family. You will need a very supportive family to do this!
Second...keep reading, a lot of great advice is givin here, by a lot of great people!:nana2: