Robin Hood/Stash/Millenial Investing

alaskadrifter

Landing gear operator
I’ve been trying to educate myself on investing, and these seem like good options for complete newbs like myself. I like that you can try Stash for $5, people pay more for games on their phone! Has anyone else used one of these apps?

Haven't, but the fees are high from looking at the website for Stash. $5 may sound great, but you are paying $12/year in fees.

Fidelity or Vanguard charge basically nothing. You can probably open an IRA at either with no minimum. For the index funds you should be buying, they will both have good ETFs with no commissions, and the funds themselves have low management expenses. I personally would suggest an IRA or brokerage account with Fidelity and set up a monthly direct deposit from your paycheck directly to it (for at least a bit more than $5). I would buy the Blackrock iShares IVV (an S&P500 index) whenever there is enough in the account to buy more, a few times/year, or whenever there is a decline in the market (like last month).

I love Vanguard for my real accounts. All in on VTI!

I used Robinhood for my gambling play money but their CNBC interview made me worry so I pulled my money.

Haven't, but the fees are high from looking at the website for Stash. $5 may sound great, but you are paying $12/year in fees.

Fidelity or Vanguard charge basically nothing. You can probably open an IRA at either with no minimum. For the index funds you should be buying, they will both have good ETFs with no commissions, and the funds themselves have low management expenses. I personally would suggest an IRA or brokerage account with Fidelity and set up a monthly direct deposit from your paycheck directly to it (for at least a bit more than $5). I would buy the Blackrock iShares IVV (an S&P500 index) whenever there is enough in the account to buy more, a few times/year, or whenever there is a decline in the market (like last month).