Progressive Taxi

flygirl39

This is just a simple question. I am a student and at this point just about every airport is unfamiliar to me. When I ask for "progressive taxi" is that a big inconvenience to ATC? Does it put a huge workload on the controllers? And finally can you deny a request for progressive taxi regardless if it’s a student or not?
Thank you very much
:)

Hello, I am pretty new around here but I have asked for progressive several times at airports that I dont fly to all that much. Even pretty simple ones like Des Moines and Sioux City. The controllers have been more than happy to accomodate the request. I did ask this question to the controllers when I visited the tower here in Omaha, and they would much rather you ask than do something wrong. Runway Incursion is a big Hot Topic right now with the FAA, so I think this a perfect way to ensure safety.

Every time I've asked for progressive taxi or let the know "pilot is unfamiliar" they are extremely helpful. I've done it at large class B, C, and D airports. I think they understand that not everyone knows the layout and preferences of that specific airport.

ATC has always been more than willing to help me in the past.

Asking for a progressive is not a problem at all. I work with many former tower controllers and I asked them this myself a while back (I have a PPL license) because I often had to ask for one.

They all have said they welcome it... asking for one alerts them that you are unfamiliar with the airport and reminds them to keep an eye on you and avoid giving any complicated instructions.