ERJ headsets

Alchemy

Hi,

I've flown the ERJ for oh....6 years now, and have always used david clarks. I started out bring my own H20-10's but got tired of that after a year or so and started using the company provided 13.4's (or whatever they are). I guess I've been using those for about 5 years.

Anyway, the headsets have become one of the most frustrating parts of this job over the years. Specifically I notice a tendency of many headsets to have microphone issues. Usually when you first plug them in they sound good, but on many headsets, as the flight progresses the mic gets progressively less sensitive until it barely picks you up at all. This leads to you either having to stop during the taxi to put on a different headset or having to transfer all duties to the other pilot momentarily in-flight while you change headsets. Occasionally all the available 13.4's will do this and then you're stuck dealing with it until you can have maintenance give you a new headset. Trying to twist the mic boom around so that you're talking into the other side of the mic works as a temporary solution but the thing always tries to untwist to its original position.

Does anyone know if there is some sort of quick fix on the 13.4 that will solve this problem? Does this even happen to anyone else? I assume it's caused by dirt on the mic but i don't understand why they often sound fine at first then get progressively worse as the flight goes on (and no, it's not from increased wind noise, it is noticeable during a taxi or during constant cruise).

Finally, if anyone has any recommendations for a good headset for the ERJ I'm open to options. I don't want to wear earplugs or earmolds, but am open to ANR or clamps. If I'm going to bring my own I figure it might as well be better than the 13.4's though.