Degree to help get a job

Caoimhghin

Hello, I have a quick question. I already for for Delta Air Lines in a station ops position, eventually looking to become a dispatcher. I already have my license, PPL and a college degree in aviation sciences. Would getting a masters in atmospheric sciences / getting my IFR help me get in? I have no actually dispatch experience, and I don't really want to leave the company to get it, to then just come back. I just know it is super competitive, so I wanna try to stick out more if possible.

Thanks

Short answer is no. A Master's degree is highly unlikely to have any impact on selection and is absolutley not worth the cost if you weren't motivated to get it anyway for its own merits.

If you are set on remaining with one carrier to keep your seniority and benefits I would just continue to apply as an internal. Your experience in station ops and dispatch license / knowledge will be more valuable than the time and money spent on a master's degree as its not required for the position. Experience will matter more and while internals are selected each round, only those who can separate themselves from their competiton get hired. I knew someone who worked at a major for nearly 10 years in customer service who had their license and still left for a regional just to get their dispatch experience to boost their resume. They got hired back about a year later into dispatch.