Buying an airplane for private use and instructing

avi8tor1983

Hey all,
A couple friends and I have been talking. We are looking to buy an airplane to teach in and possibly rent out. There are none to rent out or to give instruction within an hour drive. I fly for a living, week on and week off. My two friends are a private pilot and an instrument pilot. They both make a good living outside of flying. I would be training both of them up to the CFI level and CFII. This way we could teach at any time. I'm asking what kind of airplane would be good for this kind of thing. We all have been wanting something semi fast for longer trips, but also something simple enougph to teach a PPL in. We have thought about a 182. Any ideas would be great. Thanks all.

PS I really dontz know a whole lot about aircraft ownership.

182 sounds like a good airplane for your needs and a good entry airplane. Get a good pre-buy from an independent mechanic, not the normal mechanic who works on it. "Fresh annual" is one of the biggest lies in aviation along with "NDH". Look for reasons not to buy a specific airplane. Look for red flags- such as a prop overhaul earlier than normal, but no indication in the logbook of anything else... such as fire wall damage and an engine tear down. If you can't find any reasons not to buy an airplane it's probably a good airplane. You can take an airplane out of Florida, but you can't take Florida out of an airplane. I've got an ownership cost spread sheet. Feel free to PM me and I'll send you a copy.

If you're looking to rent out a plane, i wouldnt go for a 182. They break the 200hp barrier, and would need a HP sign off. I dont know why more people dont go for a cardinal. Fixed gear 172 on steroids. Other than that, theres a reason why 172s are so ubiquitous.