ATP Second In Command Type Rating

thegriffinpages

AKA "Icicles"
Under Part 121, a First Officer needs an ATP with a Second In Command (SIC) Type Rating.

Is that SIC Type Rating the same thing as having a Restricted ATP?

I ask this because I'm studying for my Aircraft Dispatch Certification. Some of the questions they ask are about things like approach minimums based on the pilot's hours.

Also, would the airlines try to make schedules so they a newer ATP would fly with a more qualified ATP, so they don't have to worry about being legal for approaches?

Thanks! Sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm not a pilot!

There is no SIC type rating, only type ratings.

Under the new legislation all part 121 pilots are required to have a type rating in the airplane they operate, whereas before only the captain was required to have a type rating and ATP. Previously FOs, were only required to have a Commercial Multi, though many would get a full ATP as they hit the required gates to do so.

A R-ATP simply means you can be SIC in a part 121 operation, but not a captain, you must still have a type rating.

A full ATP means you can be a captain.

There are many "full up" ATPs that are also FOs, for ex. I got my R-ATP at 800 hours with the military carve out, when I hit 1500 hours of flying time, I converted it to a full ATP even though I am still an FO, the type rating had nothing to do with it.

As for approaches;

There are three factors in whether an approach can be shot

1. The plane. We can not shoot an RNP approach because our airplanes are not certified for RNP approaches, therefore the crews do not receive this training.

2. The crew. My airline is a Cat 2 airline, but we can only shoot a Cat 2 approach if the plane is able to, and both crew members have had Cat 2 approach training in the previous year.