34, Father of 2, I HAVE to fly!

NitroRoo

Hey everyone - I just stumbled upon this forum.

Like many of you would probably describe yourselves, I've had a lifelong love for aviation. My grandfather was a bush pilot in Australia and Papua New Guinea in the 40's and 50's, and hearing his stories from a very young age has left a burning desire to fly that just hasn't gone away.

I graduated high school in 1999 and went to LeTourneau University with the hopes of pursuing their aviation program. But I wasn't ready. Wasn't mature enough I suppose - and I ended up in love and married. I dropped out after only 1 semester. Plot twist: I don't regret it. I married my awesome college girlfriend Dec. 1999 and we've been together ever since. We have 2 kids - 6th and 7th graders as of this posting.

My wife is currently about halfway through nursing school. She'll be an RN summer of 2017. I am the sole provider for our family. We live in Charlotte, NC and own a home. I have a career in marketing and a background in photography. I do "okay" income wise (paying the bills, living life - not getting rich), and besides our home, we are debt free.

So... all that to say. I'm tired of the "someday" mentality I've had for most of my life. I'm ready to take real, actual steps towards my goal of flying for a living. I don't really know what that will look like. I know in the past when I've looked into it I've been put off by the high costs and low initial pay. I do have real constraints - I have to keep providing for my family. But there has to be something I can do TODAY to start chipping away at this goal.