Corporate Culture Not Good In Aviation

Perhaps you feel this way due to your limited personal experience as a pilot. Your experience is NOT that of others.

If, in fact, executing the approach in this discussion were considered a “stupid decision” with no variants, the FARs wouldn’t allow it.

Part 121 is more conservative for a reason and one reason only….more passengers. A 121 accident is higher profile in public opinion. This is not to state that Part 91 is dangerous but it is certainly different.

I’m a very selfish pilot. I WANT to live and I think about MY survival EVERYTIME I fly. I figure if I live through the flight, my passengers will live through the flight!

I have executed more “0/0” takeoffs than I have “0/0” landings but I’ve done both and will do so again if the situation dictates. AND I, along with all of my passengers lived!! Oh it’s a miracle!!!!!!

If YOU don’t want to or, most likely, can’t handle flying an approach that is below published minimums (or below your personal minimums), then don’t!!

But either way, stop the sanctimonious grandstanding….please!

If you took off and landed, they weren’t 0/0, which is why you’re putting it in quotes.

No sanctimonious grandstanding necessary. The amount of fatal 91 and 135 corporate jet losses (esp during approach) compared to 121 jet in this country is remarkable.

If you took off and landed, they weren’t 0/0, which is why you’re putting it in quotes.

No sanctimonious grandstanding necessary. The amount of fatal 91 and 135 corporate jet losses (esp during approach) compared to 121 jet in this country is remarkable.