Orange Theory Fitness

TheFlyingTurkey

Fetus Worshiper
Anyone go to OTF?

I've been struggling with my weight since I graduated high school and stopped playing on the football team.

I recently discovered Orange Theory Fitness (OTF) and I joined up back in November. It's basically an instructor guided, heart rate monitored, bootcamp style, interval training class that lasts about an hour. It is very high intensity, but you can go at your own pace and listen to your body. The instructor/trainer is there to guide you and help you do the workout correctly.

You wear a heart rate monitor, and the goal is to get your heart rate into the "orange zone" for at least 12 minutes of the class. This in theory, will allow you to continue burning calories/fat for up to 36 hours after your workout. They have some science to back this up.

All I know is, I am sore for days after a workout. Granted I am 45 years old now and way out of shape. But I feel fantastic after a workout. Exhausted, but great at the same time.

And I heard somewhere that 80% of weight loss is diet. So I am also using the "Lose It" app to track my caloric intake, and track excercise.

We'll see how it goes, but I have 100 lbs to lose. It'll probably take me a year.

You can't outrun your fork.

Reduce carbs, don't eat useless carlories, and eat a ton of veggies. Stop adding sugar and salt to things. Note I didn't say don't eat carbs, but most are superfluous and serve no purpose.

Look into a plant based diet. Start slowly, don't quit cold turkey.

It's really incredibly simple, yet most don't have the will power to make the lifestyle change.

Carbs. It’s all about the carbs.

Read Wheat Belly, Atkins, or South Beach. Wheat Belly is the best, written by a cardiologist who knows a thing or two.

Or by someone who made up a bunch of crap to sell books and a lifestyle.
Literally no scientific evidence for anything in that book.

Wait wait... I already know the reply -

"But my anecdotes!"