nursing to aviation...or both?

srleslie

So to make a LONG story short, I have dreamed of aviation my entire life and I knew from the age of a young boy I wanted to be a pilot. There was nothing else in the world I wanted to do. But I grew up being told I was color blind and I eventually gave the ream up. I sort of accepted my reality and move on to other things. But nothing else has seemed to make me happy. I'm 28 now and I've dabbled in quite few different things. I finished a biology degree and now I'm in nursing school.

It was in the first semester of nursing school that they made us take a color vision test, not a requirement for the school but merely to let us know if we might have any kind of color deficiency. To my surprise I did miss a few of them but I got enough right to still pass the test per the FAA requirements. I would later find the keystone vision test and pass it as well. You can imagine my shock and disappointment at finding out I'm only mildly color deficient and I could have been flying all of these years.

So I'm working full-time as an LPN now making $20 an hour and for the first time in my life have a stable job and financial stability. I'm currently in school pursuing requirements to get my RN license. I will be done in December. I do enjoy the medical field and I have found something I'm fairly good at and I know it will provide a stable career. Yet, deep down, I know I will never be really fulfilled with nursing and that it will just be a job. I don't know if I can be happy in it for 20 or 30 years. With this realization the dream keeps creeping back up, bit by bit. I think it's only going to keep getting stronger and I believe I might regret it if I don't give aviation a try. I'm also at the point in my life where for the first time I can actually afford to pursue my certificates. I am considering obtaining my private over the summer.