New Question: Your Goals after ATC?

MaestroJJP

Hi folks, long time reader here.

I'm in PUBNAT8, took test in Oct 09, scored WQ, waiting as everyone else is.

My question is a bit different - do you have any goals for your career besides ATC in aviation?

For example, it's my hope that I could be in ATC for 5-10 years and then perhaps move into either a supervisory position, or even moreso, a position with the FAA that travels, establishes rules/regulations/recommendations for runway safety, airport infrastructure, etc., or perhaps an airport business development position (I've been a professional salesperson my entire career thus far). Also, a management/director position within a corporate aviation department for a larger company could be interesting.

So, does anyone have any similar goals, or do you plan to remain in ATC for most of your career? Does anyone have any success stories to share in this area of thinking?

Don't get me wrong, I love everything about ATC - I listen to it in the car on the way to work - but I want to ulimately move even further.

Much appreciated in advance! I'm 28, but having a serious, serious "mid-life crisis" when it comes to my career - I've got a well paying, stable business development job in consulting, but I absolutely love aviation (especially airports and airport infrastructure - from runways to approach
lighting to jetbridges and everything in between) - and I'd love for that to be my ultimate career path. Even with a pay cut to start.

I even met with our international airport's vice president of business development to discuss options, conventions/associations I could get involved with, and more.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
JJP

I'm on the complete opposite end of the spectrum there -- I have no expectations of moving to management or using it as a stepping stone. I've wanted to do this since I was in 3rd grade and finally found my chance without having to get a CTI degree.