Getting back into aviation.

Midwest pilot

I graduated from one of the flight schools that some of you went to back in 2008. I put my flight and maintenance skills to work till I was laid off in early 2009. Unfortunately for my flying, I had already found my future spouse. So I looked for flying jobs that were close by, but flying jobs were hard to come by in 2009. So I took an industrial maintenance job, and have made really good money ever since.

I have been watching the skies for years now. In a dumb ass move I let my CFI expire back in 2010, with the hope that some day I'd get my CFII to reinstate it.

Fast forward to the present. I want to get back into flying (full time). I'm married with two kids, and a mortgage. Good news is that my student and car loans are almost paid off. I am located about an hour and a half away from MSP, and I'm hoping to get on with one of the regionals once I have enough hours. Thankfully my degree qualifies me for the 1000 hour RATP. So only 500 hours to go.

I have been studying my butt off to get my CFII which will reinstate my CFI and MEI. I have a current BFR or whatever we call them now, and IPC. I have my FII and IGI completed, and the flying is coming back really quick.

So the question is this, are there any jobs that would allow me to fly full-time and still stay married? Here in the Midwest there is not much flying in the winter time if I were to flight instruct full-time, air survey would require me to be gone too long, and there don't seem to be many 135 FO jobs around. Any suggestions?

Look around, there will be a contract FO position somewhere. If it's once a week, or once every two weeks it's great - you won't feel like you can quit your day job for it.
I started at about the same point where you are, 550 hrs I think. Flew 'Van part 91, then mysteriously found myself in the right seat of a Citation I, then Bravo, then CJ, Ultra, CJ2+.