Deer in the headlights?

t-cart

I just returned home from a King Air 200 initial training school and the following expressions come to mind. "Deer in the headlights look", "caught with my hand in the cookie jar", "Country goes to town", and probably the most descriptive,"Couldn't find my azz with both hands":D!

As most of you know on here from my post's, I am a ag pilot, Plain and simple. That is basically all I know. It's what I do. I learned the past week that just because you have a fat logbook of one type of flying, doesn't really mean squat when you try your hand at another type of flying.

After talking with some other members here (Thanks guys) about what to expect, I started studying and I had a pretty good grasp of the systems, and had flown a little on one of those desk top things(simulator?) to knock the rust off the scan. As I told someone, I should have started about a year ago.

First day was systems class. It was pretty straight forward so not much problem there. The next day started the sim sessions. I really havent decided if I like that thing or hate it. On one hand, It is great for showing and practicing normal and emerg. procedures which is a great thing. On the other hand, that thing will humble you. Don't walk in with your chest poofed out because you will surely walk out with your tail tucked between your legs.

All in all, it was a great experience. The boss was going through recurrent while I was doing initial. Before training, I had flown the airplane several trips while he explained things to me about the airplane. Now, I have a much better understanding of things.

One last little observation that is strictly my opinion. If you take a job as a patrol pilot or banner towing or traffic watch and your goal is to move into corporate or the airlines, Build your time and move on. I went in to this training with close to 20,000 hrs and it really meant absolutely nothing. Your mileage may vary but I don't think so.