Advice for prior 91 VFR guys...

CatchyScreenName

Hey all,

Just looking for any tips or general advice as I prepare to leave next week for ATP/CTP. My background is completely VFR and Part 91. I recently did an IPC with a retired Airline Pilot/Air Force Pilot and he said though I'm rusty I'll be just fine. I've been hitting the Shepard Test prep pretty hard. I've been out of the school environment for a while so relearning old stuff and also learning new stuff there. Got a copy of Turbine Pilot Flight Manual and read that. So I feel like I'm putting in a lot of effort but I also feel like I'm kind of wandering around aimlessly without a good heading to steer me.

So basically if you've been there yourself and wish you would have prepped more on subject A or subject B or whatever I would most definitely appreciate any insight.

If it matters any I am going to PSA which is still doing the build a plane thing as their AQP isn't up and running yet. Pretty decent size study guide/mandatory memory item thing going on - which isn't much on its own but add in ATP written study and it can feel overwhelming. So if anyone that went through PSA training recently wouldn't mind PMing me that would be great as I have a few PSA specific questions also.

I very very much do not want to be the guy that flunks out. I think I'll do fine however never having flown anything larger than 8000 pounds and 800 horsepower (radial engined helicopter) and nothing faster than 120 knots I just don't know what I don't know ! hahaha

Thanks !

I didn't go through PSA's CTP but I'm sure they're all very similar. You don't need to study anything for the CTP. Take the time to study for the ATP written. It was a nice intro to airline ground school. I didn't fly anything faster than a Cessna prior to coming to the airlines and had no problem passing. Keep a positive attitude and do exactly as the instructors tell you to and you'll do fine.