Yet another career changer looking for advice to build a flying career

Immelman

Hi everyone,

I'm after advice. I'm at the stage in my life where I've either got to give a professional flying career a shot, or hang it up and keep flying on 'hobby' status.

Here's some background:
Age 30, 870TT, relatively-green CFI-ASE, fresh multi rating but no time (10hrs), BS degree (engineering).

Four years ago, I realized a life long dream as I saved enough to buy an airplane. I own a '66 Mooney, and have taken it from the tip of Baja to Fairbanks and to many points in between. No debt, financially secure (not rich, though).

I started flying when I was a teenager, PPL at age 17, right on to instrument and commercial shortly thereafter. I flew actively for a few years and then had a hiatus after college while I got financially secure. I work in the computer chip business as an engineer and have climbed that ladder to its plateau. I make good money, but for the past several years I've felt the call to do what I love more than anything else - fly.

To that end I got my CFI recently (but can only do a small amount of teaching, an hour here or there as I'm an evening and weekend guy). Regardless of whether I make the full time jump I enjoy teaching, and want to get my II and MEI done so I can jump on any training opportunities that come up, and also to be on the top of my game for future interviews.

Looking forward, I don't have specific objective in aviation. No shiny-jet-syndrome, that is. Working into something with decent pay and QOL after the initial dues paying is what I'm after. I imagine its what many of us are after. In terms of ideals, it would be nice to get on with a carrier like Hawaiian (I grew up in Hawaii, have family in the islands, and know a couple of pilots at HAL, and they have a pretty good career going), or failing that, to be able to be based on the west coast. Airline? Fractional? Corporate? I am a flexible man!