YOUR opinion matters!!.....maybe

pilotsav27

I've recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Psychology (I/O). I obviously want to fly for a living, seeing as how I am entangled through the countless threads on this site. However, I'm considering a masters degree in Aviation Science or Av. management. If I were to pursue this degree, will having it on my resume make me any more appealing to the airlines than the guy with only a BS/BA? I'm the type of person who loves to be the best at what I do, and I've proven that locally. The masters degree will be a great addition to my resume in general, but will it positively effect my chances of becoming a professional pilot? In addition, the Masters will also allow me to have more opportunity in the civilian world having the ability to work in the aviation industry, if my desire to be a pilot is relinquished. What are your thoughts??

Of course it makes you stand out more. Is it a requirement? No, but you already knew that...

I say anything that differentiates you from the rest of the applicants is a positive, not to mention its great to have a Masters if flying doesnt work out.

Hi pilotsav27,

I generally recommend to people to get an education outside of, or not connected to aviation. Reason: limiting oneself to nothing but Aviation is like putting all your retirement money into Chrysler stock. Get well educated with something you can see yourself doing besides being around airplanes. Then add your aviation degree later on.

Never limit your opportunities to venture into more profitable careers by being to focused on Aviation. While your degree may help with a specific airline, you end up just as furloughed as anyone else if disaster strikes. Then you want to have skills and abilities as well as knowledge about things which do not raise eyebrows on the recruiters side of the table.

Good luck!