Transitioning Army Helicopter Pilot to Commercial Fixed wing looking to gain flight time exoerience

fastest way to gains 200 hrs of fixed wing time

• Flight Instructor

Votes: 18 94.7%
  • Ferry Flights

Votes: 2 10.5%

• Total voters

Alex B

Hey guys,

I am an Army Helicopter pilot transitioning out into the civilian commercial fixed wing world. I have around 1000 hrs of twin turbine time, currently gaining my fixed wing SE/ME Commercial rating and I am looking for advice and recommendations on how to gain around 180 hours of fixed wing time to get me up to the minimum required of 250 hrs for entry into the airlines. Thanks and I am looking forward your words of wisdom. Thanks

First, welcome to JC!

Primary instruction is the best way to get the experience. Here are a couple of things to keep in mind along the way:
1) Not everybody counts helo time. You won't change their minds.
2) Flying in the civilian world is much different. Comms techniques are different, nobody knows what "negative ETR" means. Get in the PCG.
3) There is no "mission" -- don't fixate on getting wherever or completing a flight. You don't HAVE to do it.
4) Not everybody is as motivated as your IERW class. Don't make the students stand at attention and recite EPs and limitations. ;)
5) Have fun and remember that you, as the CFI, can learn as you give instruction.
6) Don't hover the airplane. :cool:

Ferry time is hard to come by at reputable companies. Don't ever do it for free. You'll get the wrath of the JC community, and any other pilot with a slight bit of self worth.

Get your CFI. My most memorable flights were as a CFI. And I have some life long friends now.

Welcome to JC!
CFI is a great way to go because it gives you hours, and experience at the same time. @deadstick gives great advice above, you won't go wrong following his "Checklist".