Returning to flying - Looking for advice

I know of many pilots doing just that.... It is indeed possible. I have a buddy here at SkyWest doing that as a first officer on the ERJ. He bids reserve, and is basically paid to sit at home playing video games since he is never called. And my friend at Spirit is on reserve during his first year, and flies perhaps five hours per month. He is currently recording songs for his rock band.
This experience is not normal.

Hi all,

After a failed 2-year business venture, I have decided to return to flying. I currently have about 2,500 TT, of which around 1,500 is SIC B737/8 time (expat Copa Airlines flying).

I've been browsing around the different job listings, and though I seem to meet the published minimums at some of the major carriers, I must ask - What do you think my odds really are after being absent from flying for two years and no college degree?

A little background: I worked as a CFI and imagery pilot but left for Copa before being picked up by a regional. As I left for Copa with only a CMEL, I never obtained my FAA ATP. I did, however, complete my ATP written and required CTP course after returning to the US. No ding/dents on record or checkride/written failures (YET!) knocks on wood

I'm in my mid-thirties, single and quite flexible in terms of where I can live and equipment I fly. I would prefer a carrier that would allow me quite a bit of time at home -- even if this means sitting on reserve.

Long story short, I am looking for suggestions as to which path(s) would be best and realistically attainable in my current state. Also, has anyone been through a similar transition? If so, what materials would you recommend for bringing myself back up to speed aside from the FAR/AIM?

Many thanks in advance!
Well if you find such a unicorn, let us all know.

Why do you want to sit at home? Do you not enjoy flying aeroplanes?