My negative ATC experience...

N99999

This is my first post to jetcareers.com, and unfortunately, what motivated me to take the leap to sign up stems from this incident.

For background, I'm a low-time instrument-rated pilot. I have somewhere between 150 and 200 hours total.

I've made a couple minor mistakes, such as turning to my filed heading instead of maintaining my current (unassigned) heading while awaiting an ATC vector. And I corrected a controller once when I mentioned being inside a cloud (other traffic couldn't spot me), the controller said it wasn't a smart thing to say when VFR, to which I responded that I was IFR.

I feel good knowing there are extra eyes looking out for me and talking on the radios is now second-nature to me.

A few weeks ago, I took my first trip in an airplane. I rented a plane for the trip and had multiple failures on my way up. I lost the vaccuum pump, tachometer and I had to be gentle with the airplane in the climb to keep it cool up until about 6000MSL. This was a known-issue with the airplane, according to the flight school where I rented it -- I'd appreciate it if we could keep the thread off of the subject of whether or not I was stupid to have flown with this issue.

The plane kept me grounded at my destination for a few days while parts came in. I took it up the night after it was fixed and flew around for an hour or so and everything was fine.

On my return trip, I stopped at another airport and did a stop-and-go to get a third airport on the return flight. It was brutally hot that day 90+ degrees on the ground. Upon departing the stop-and-go airport, I had to level off at a miserable 3000 ft because of the heat generated when sitting and waiting for landing traffic before taking off again.

I stopped at KSAV for fuel and gave the plane a good hour or so to cool off. My thoughts were that if I got out quickly, I could climb to cooler air and avoid the issue I'd had on my way there.