Martinaire, Ameriflight, Mountain Air Cargo

Mano

I'm a former Navy instructor pilot looking to get back in the cockpit after being out for a few years. Right now I'm doing my due diligence researching opportunities (specifically in Michigan) ranging from CFI jobs to big freight like IFL and Kalitta. I exceed all hours minimums every company is looking for, with the one big caveat that none of my flight time counts as multi engine.

This week I came across the smaller/feeder cargo services offered by Martinaire, AMF and MAC. I have a decent grasp on what those jobs entail, but I'm hoping some current or former employees of those carriers might be able to answer a few questions (bonus if anyone has familiarity with operations in Michigan).

- What is a typical work week (5-7days, same or changing routes daily)?
- Do they have call outs where you're babysitting a phone for 24 hours a day, hoping to get a flight?
- How is the work culture (positive employees, good relations with management)?
- What's the quality of maintenance department?
- How are the aircraft equipped (glass or analog cockpits, GPS, etc)?
- What exactly does being a standby or floater pilot mean?
- Do they have a respectable benefit plan (medical, dental, major holidays)?

I appreciate any insight members can offer. I realize some may be tempted to say, "With your hours just get your MEL and apply to Endeavor or Express at DTW," but that doesn't particularly appeal to me right now.

Thanks.

I realize some may be tempted to say, "With your hours just get your MEL and apply to Endeavor or Express at DTW," but that doesn't particularly appeal to me right now.

Well, the best advice IMHO is the one you don't want to hear.

If you want to end up at a larger career carrier (either airline or freight), the fastest way there is going to be swallowing your pride, bracing your bank account, and getting some 121 multi jet time at a regional.