Started ATP 2 Days Ago

Miguel Villazon

image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Hello,

I see a lot of people with questions regarding the ATP Airline Career Pilot program. I started the program 2 days ago, March 7, 2016. I want to make this thread for people who want to get a first hand account of someone who is actually in the program. A little about me, I am a completely new pilot, do not have any hours, so I am starting from zero time. The program cost me $74,500 which includes $5,000 for checkride fees. I got a fixed rate loan with Wells Fargo at 6% interest. I'd love to answer any questions anyone has about the program. I'll also try to keep updating this thread with pictures and a small recap of what the days look like.

Days 1 & 2:

When you start from zero time, you need to accumulate 7 hours before you start maneuvers such as steep turns and stalls. I am halfway through the 7 hours and should be done with them tomorrow. I added some pics, the planes all appear to be in awesome shape and sound great all throughout the Flight. Hope this info is helpful to some of you guys. I'll keep the updates coming for anyone interested.

Hey - guys, let's let the guy do this thread and let other people ask questions. @Derg knows better than most how many threads there are asking questions about ATP and talking about the costs. Let's not use this thread as another platform for that, okay?

@Miguel Villazon - good luck to you. What location are you training from?

I think I need to become an examiner. $5,000? Assuming that is PPL/INST/C-ASEL/C-MEL/CFI/CFI-II/MEI, that is like $720 a ride.
Well, I requested the school to write me a out a check for the $4,800. Since it isn't a part of the tuition, there's no reason why they needed to hold on to it. Also, the loan accrues zero interest until a year after my start date. So if I don't use all of the $4800, I can dump whatever I have left of it right back into the loan. Don't see the harm in it.