Please Help: Another OWI (DUI) Thread

HIfly808

Hello all,

I am a new member here and I was really hoping to get some insight on the current state of events that are unfolding before me. I am a instrument rated private pilot with approximately 230 hours. In August of last year (2013) I was arrested under suspicion of operating while intoxicated. In the State of Wisconsin where the arrest took place a first offense OWI is treated as a civil matter, rather than a criminal matter (read:misdemeanor). While I was taken to the police station I was not "booked" in the traditional sense. I consented to the breathalyzer in which the reported value was 0.09. Thereafter I was released to a responsible party who took me home. At this time the case is still ongoing, trial is set for July, 2014.

Later that same month I was pulled over for speeding on vacation in Hawaii, very stupid considering what just happened weeks prior I am well aware. Regardless I was issued a criminal traffic citation. I was never arrested, just served the citation and was sent on my way. As I was on vacation I was unable to fight the charge from 3,000+ miles away. I was able to plea bargain the criminal traffic charge to a non-traffic petty misdemeanor. No jail time or license suspension as would have been in the original charge. Hawaii treats speeding more serious than most states treat DUI's. The final disposition was a charge of "Regulations in Historical Districts 1&2" which is actually a zoning violation in the Maui County Code. (It was the PD idea as he knew I was a pilot).