I hope I am not screwed

petemoss

About 5mths ago I went to see a dr. on pressure and stress at my job [not flying] in order to have my insurance cover this he had to put down depression..To make matters worse i had a another visit the other day and he gave me a rx of zoloft I picked it up and found out it is a faa no drug..I did not take any..I feel I am ok to fly..I am a student pilot my med is up 6mths.should I report this?will they ever find out I bought this Rx and used it? What happens If i bend a wing will they dig in my records and nail me?thaks for your help..signed dumb ass /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/banghead.gif

Hmmm. Toughy. If it were me, I call AOPA's medical line. That's what I pay that fee for every year. I'd also make sure I had paperwork from your doctor saying that you no longer take Zoloft when you go in to get your medical renewed JUST IN CASE. Other than that, be honest.

[ QUOTE ]
Other than that, be honest.

[/ QUOTE ]

This reminds me of an article in the latest issue of Flying Magazine. It's an article about an Airline pilot trying to pull a fast one on the FAA. He lost everything in the end. Lying doesn't pay.. well atleast not for long it doesn't. Telling the truth, you will probably be out of a job, but atleast you can live with yourself. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/buck.gif

[ QUOTE ]
Telling the truth, you will probably be out of a job, but atleast you can live with yourself. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/buck.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

Now, this is just my own thought. If I'm going to loose everything and be out of a job whether I tell the truth or keep it a secret, I'll be one lying pilot.

Again, that's just me. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

But what if it's the difference between a (probably temporary) for-sure grounding, and the chance (if caught) of a permanent certificate loss?

(edit: don't let the grammar police anywhere near that sentence...)