Electronic copy of medical

Northtechsan

Would it be sufficient to have a digital copy of a medical certificate in my smart phone/tablet or must I carry the original medical certificate.

If you are pulled over by the police and asked to see your license and registration, would you pull out your smartphone instead and show a photo of those documents? Or perhaps a smartphone photo of your passport next time on in international trip?

(OK, yes, some day that probably will be the case; but I'm not aware of any state or federal agency permits using a duplicate of an official document that is required to be carried on one's person)

Doesn't geico offer an electronic insurance card or something? And i always use a electronic boarding pass when I fly commercial flights.

I think a couple of states have laws on the books allowing this.

Funny you use the law enforcement example. I am a Police Officer and I accept electronic copies of those documents all the time. In Texas were I work we have statewide computer databases availbe in the patrol car or by data terminal operated by disptach. Law is on the books in Texas for insrance. (TxTC 601.052 (2-a)). There are laws on the books that require a physical driver license but as a matter or practice if a citizen provides verifiable information Name, DOB, address, etc. and if the driver record can be looked up on the computer in the car, or by dispatch we dont typicaly enforce it. There is no requirement to carry a registration recipet in a non-comermecial motor vehicle.

I guess I send a request to the Office of the Chief Counsel.

I've heard multiple anecdotal reports of FAA inspectors accepting electronic copies of certificates during the ramp checks. That said 14 CFR 61.3 doesn't leave much room for interpretation. I have copies of all my certificates on the phone and dropbox but I still carry them when I fly.