Delta Application Check-list

DenverPilot8

Hello all! I hope the new year treated everyone well. I don't know how to start this thread so I'll just dive right in. My background is current LCC FO (Airbus) and recent hire at Delta Air Lines. Since going through the process I have helped a lot of friends review their applications and wanted to share, if it would help the most common things I have seen. The disclaimer is that I have no association with or inside knowledge of the hiring at Delta. With that said I think it helps to have a good list of things to look over and you don't have to spend $500:) These are more along the lines of how to make your application "complete" and not a way to "hack" the system. Often if you have heard that "yeah i have my apps out but i haven't heard anything" then most likely that person turned in an application 3 years ago and the only changes they are making is their flight time. There is a lot more that goes into making a complete application than just filling in the blanks. So here it goes.

1. As most know there is a "triggering" process for your application to be be "scored" or reviewed. Do what you can to make this trigger happen. Inside recommendation (Any Delta Employee) or a job fare attendance (Once a year).

2. Think of your application as your "story". There are Delta pilots (real human beings) that are reading your application. Talk to them (through your app). Tell them about YOU. There are many places on Airline apps that allow you to write paragraphs explaining things. USE IT! one word answers to all of the questions say nothing about you. Examples are volunteer work, check ride busts, job descriptions etc. Write something but also be concise.

3. Starting at the top. Make sure your airlines apps subscription has not expired.

4. Contact information is up to date and accurate. Especially your email address. Also check your junk mail from time to time just in case.

5. Medical is up to date and not expired