Jumpseat Etiquette

diesel9driver

Forgive me if this has been done already and I'm new to the JC forums but I felt this is something that needed to be addressed. It seems like so many pilots today take the jumpseat for granted. A lot of people seem to think it's their right to jumpseat but they couldn't be more mistaken. I realize with the upgraded technology we have today including CASS and with gate agents handling most of the requests that the whole process has changed from what it once was, but there are still some rules that I feel should be followed out of professional courtesy.

• The jumpseat belongs to the Captain. He is the final authority when it comes to who rides and who doesn't (contrary to what a lot of gate agents think :)).

• The jumpseat is a privilege and a not a right. Remember someone is doing you a big favor by giving you a FREE ride on their airplane. If someone gave you a ride in their car down the street you'd thank them wouldn't you? You wouldn't just hop in the back and put on your ipod, right?

• You aren't granted the privilege of jumpseating until the Captain says so and signs your jumpseat form (most airlines, I realize some have done away with the tradional paper J/S forms).

• Even if you have a seat in the back, always introduce yourself to the crew when you board (even if the gate agent says you don't have to) and thank them for giving you a ride .

• If the Captain has to pull out his jumpseat list to see if your airline is on there, let him. Don't come out and say "I do this all the time". That won't matter much if he can't find your airline on the company's OAL approved jumpseat list. Just wait patiently, if you do it all the time then your airline will be on the list, right?

• Just because you fill out the jumpseat form first doesn't mean you own the seat. Someone else may have a higher priority than you, even if they showed up after you did. Take the time to learn the protocols of jumpseating.