The end of SMO?

Closing airports is not a good thing for our industry.

I see the bigger problem that aviation is inaccessible to most. If even recreational flying is a hobby out of reach of the vast majority, they will see airports as city-funded country clubs for the 1%.

If I owned a home in Santa Monica and didn't fly, the immediate property value boost by closing the airport would be nice...

For you or for all pilots?

Well...For me, actually. Probably not for the jet operators that operate around California out of SMO who don't have to worry about stretching a large cabin jet to the east coast. The place is a pain in the a$$. The clients can drive the extra couple miles to LAX.

On the other hand, I would've rejoiced if SNA had closed and NZJ been turned into a proper airline airport.

Agreed on the closing it to turbine aircraft idea, though. That'd nicely solve the "real" noise issue.

Back before my airline days I worked at Albertsons. As an aspiring pilot I was astounded that an airline CA was out front petitioning against the repurpose of El Toro as an air carrier airport. California is just a bunch of NIMBYs it seems.

I see the bigger problem that aviation is inaccessible to most. If even recreational flying is a hobby out of reach of the vast majority, they will see airports as city-funded country clubs for the 1%.

If I owned a home in Santa Monica and didn't fly, the immediate property value boost by closing the airport would be nice...

Except the plan is to build low income housing. And history has shown us that that leads to a decline in surrounding property values, and a spike in crime.

i hope they hire more police officers.

They did a study about closing RHV and the statiscians said there'd be a crime spree with medium density housing taking over the property.