AF447 Vanity Fair article

Flying an airplane isn't all that difficult. Sorry to bruise everyone's ego, but I can train just about anybody with an IQ over 80 to fly an airplane.

My dad, a 24-year USAF pilot who spent most of his career in the KC-135, would vehemently disagree with that contention. He once had on his crew a copilot with no skills whatsoever, and no ability to learn. Indeed, this same copilot took instruction in sailplanes and the instructor pulled him aside after several lessons and told him, "Some people just aren't meant to fly. You are one of those." The instructor darned near keeled over when dad's copilot informed him that he was a right-seater in a KC-235.

I'm by no means an expert. All my aviation experience is in ATC. That being said, I have to shake my head at a design that has a totally different CHI (computer-human interface) during degraded service versus normal operation. That's the one time in my book in which you would never want a different CHI. It's just setting up a pilot for failure during an already difficult, potentially emergency situation. And reading this entire thread, it appears to this novice that's precisely what happened in the case of AF447.

Yeah, the pilots screwed up, but if they had help screwing up because of bad CHI then ultimately there's something wrong with the CHI on that design that needs to be addressed. This whole thing reminds me of the Glock debate — Glock fanboys are always yelling "Operator error" every time someone (including professionals such as law enforcement officers) have a negligent discharge with statements such as, "He should have kept his finger off the trigger." But if there are an inordinate number of negligent discharges (and police department statistics prove that there are with the Glock) then at some point you have to start looking at the design that precipitates human error so easily.

I've had my uninformed say, so I'll now go back to lurking. Have fun, y'all.