Question for ERJ-145 Drivers

killbilly

Vocals, Lyrics, Triangle, Washboard, Kittens
Can you fly with the APU inop?

Rather, is it legal for you guys to take pax with the APU inop?

Yes (I could clarify that it would depend on the airline's MEL list, but I'd bet a buck every airline's is similar in APUs).

They said (doesn't mean it's true - I am one of the sheep/pax today) that the APU was broken on the plane and they're flying in a crew from Chicago to fix it, which is delaying the crap out of us.

Moving some pax to other flights, but I was curious about that. I mean, if the APU is borked, they might be able to fly with it inop. But then again, I ain't a 121 pilot so I have to sit here and post to JC while I'm wondering.

<sigh>

Not a 121 driver, but most MEL items have a time limit, be it flight hours or days the item is allowed to be inop. That APUs time might have just been up.

Im just a lowely saab driver, but I dont see why they couldnt MEL APUs on all aircraft. Unless there is something on the aircraft that requires it to be running. I could see maybe on large aircraft, that without an APU it might get extremely hot/cold inside the plane and if an engine cant be running at all times, and ground power or a/c isnt available it could become a problem.

On the Saab we have to risk that our 2 engines work! OH NO!!! Haha

I'm sure you can MEL the APU on the ERJ. However, there could be a few reasons why they wouldn't take the plane with it broken. Things I've seen before include no high pressure air cart at the destination so you'd have to leave the engines running on the turn, really hot days (this is a CRJ thing mostly where the engines don't provide enough cooling to the cabin on the ground). I've also seen a situation where one of the engine generators was MELed and in order to have a second generator running during the flight, the APU was required to be working.