People working for free ruining industry?

OhioStatePilot

I ran across this article in an eBrief email I received. Unfortunately, I'm still entry-level to this profession as the ink on my degree is still wet, but it saddens me to see that good industry jobs are going to those who can afford to work without pay while the rest of the industry is undergoing furloughs and layoffs.

Don't get me wrong, I understand that level of love and passion for aviation, but when one is a retired Major General, a retired CEO, and owns two residences and a twin, how can you justify taking food from the mouths of those who need it?

http://www.goupstate.com/article/20...-major-general-takes-helm-at-downtown-airport
A retired major general with the Army National Guard and former president of a global chemical company will voluntarily devote more than 60 hours weekly to leading operations at the Spartanburg Downtown Memorial Airport.

<style> .art_main_pic { width:250px; float:left; clear:left; } </style> The director position has been vacant since Josh Houston resigned in July. Darwin Simpson, an avid aviator and Spartanburg resident, has offered his services and business expertise - free-of-charge - to the city.

[continues...]
Does this article bother anyone else?

Same thing happened to me. I was ground instructing on a part time basis at my old school. Then a retired military guy came in and started doing it for free. Of course my services were no longer needed. I was making half of my airline guarantee in only a few hours of work, was a pretty nice boost in pay for a little while there.

:(

I ran across this article in an eBrief email I received. Unfortunately, I'm still entry-level to this profession as the ink on my degree is still wet, but it saddens me to see that good industry jobs are going to those who can afford to work without pay while the rest of the industry is undergoing furloughs and layoffs.