Newbie here and need some help!

PugLife

Hey guys, I am new here to the forums and dispatching in general, kind of. Please be kind to me!

I have enrolled into Sheffield's online program and will be getting my license in June. I don't have any prior experience in aviation, but will have a bachelor's degree by May. I am only 24. What is the best way to get my foot in the door to make myself more marketable in this competitive career? Is networking necessary? If so, whats the best way to myself out there. I hear good things about Sheffield and hopefully employers look positively in that regards. As you guys can tell, I am open to hear all advice, tips, etc. I am willing to relocate, but really prefer to stay in Dallas-Fort Worth area. Thanks guys!

If you have no prior experience in aviation then I encourage you to reconsider the online program at Sheffield. That is a very advanced program and it will be quite difficult without previous aviation knowledge. I would try to make the 5 week residency option work. As far as that first regional job goes, networking definitely can't hurt. I posted the locations of most of the regionals in a previous post. Sheffield does indeed carry a bit of weight amongst the hiring managers, but that will only be good enough to get you an interview. You will have to know your stuff and be personable to land that job offer.

As far as DFW goes, the uncertain future of American Enovy leaves few options in that area to start. Once you get some experience and can move to the majors, you have the benefit of two major dispatch offices in your backyard so a relocation would only be temporary should you get hired by American or Southwest down the road.

Best of luck.