New Member Just Passed PPL Checkride

Van_Hoolio

Hey this is my first post, even though I've "lurked" here for about a couple years and registered over a year-and-a-half ago.

Let me tell everyone how NOT to get their PPL like I did. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

I started training in late May of 2002 during my last summer of college in Iowa City, IA. My first lesson was pretty bumpy and I got pretty woozy. I thought to myself, "what am I getting into?" but I knew I wanted to do it. With the help of peppermint tea I got through the next couple of lessons and got accustomed to the bumpiness. I was able to fly pretty consistently and soloed on my 13th flight lesson, a little over a month after starting and at about 14 hours. All of this flying in some elderly Cessna 150s out of the FBO at the Iowa City Municipal Airport (KIOW).

I kept at it through that summer. My first solo cross country (to KBRL)was at about 26 hours TT, 2.5 months after starting training and with 2.5 hours previous total solo time. Kept after it still. My long X-C was at 38 hours TT and it had been a little over 3 months since I started. I went from IOW-DBQ-ALO-IOW. Pretty nice X-C with the Class D at Dubuque & Waterloo and flying through the CID Class C on the way back to IOW. And Waterloo is one of those goofy Class D’s with radar service. Their departure control actually hands you off to CID approach too, and vice versa.

The problem came in when I moved 2 hours away to Des Moines, IA and I had the bright idea that I should continue training out of Iowa City. For the rest of the year following my long X-C I only had 6 lessons, including a couple month-long breaks.

Come 2003. My first lesson was on February 13. A little month-and-a-half break before that one. Then another month break, a lesson, another month break, two lessons, then another month break, then two more lessons in May of 2003. 53.5 TT. All requirements done except 0.6 hours X-C.