Masters Degrees and Major Airline Employment

zVo

Hey everyone,

How much does a masters degree help in landing an interview with a major airline?

I am a military helicopter pilot headed to the regional airlines next year. I have a Post-9/11 GI Bill I haven't tapped into yet, so starting a masters degree wouldn't cost me any money out of pocket. I'm looking at fully accredited online MBA degrees because (1) it is an added credential as a fallback in case of unemployment or loss of medical and (2) I've heard it may help increase my application in the digital 'stack' via AAL/DAL/UAL's point system.

Can anyone shed light on the value majors/legacies place on a masters degree in the hiring process?

Thanks!
zVo

I agree that it couldn't hurt, but if there's better ways I could be spending my time to enhance my application for the majors, I might not press as hard to get a masters degree completed as expeditiously.

Having one does make a candidate more competitive though, both United and Delta have made such statements in the past. It won't be a deal sealer in my opinion, but if you have everything else in order like military pilot training and good civilian flight experience, you would certainly stand over much of your competition. I am doing an online grad aviation program to which your background would be useful. Relatively cheap as well, I'm learning about aviation concepts such as SMS, TEM, CRM, HF and more. I can definitely put it to good use in other aviation capacities should I (knock on wood) ever lose my medical. PM me if you wish to find out more.

Last edited:
Reactions: zVo
Hey everyone,

How much does a masters degree help in landing an interview with a major airline?