FSA or Ari-Ben?

flysouth

I will be finishing up my private shortly and I want to pursue a career in aviation. I am 21 and I have a BA degree. Around 6 mo. ago, I toured the FL schools and I am making a decision between two schools- FSA and Ari-Ben. Ari-Ben offers 200hrs. multi time and all the tickets including MEI, CFI, CFII for $25,000. At ari-ben I will have the chance to instruct immediatly after I finish. FSA impressed me because it has excellent facilities, well maintained aircraft, and a structured training program. The cost of FSA is much higher and it appears that a student just coming into the program will not have a chance to instruct for possibly two years. Please help me with my decision. Will I be a better trained pilot if I go to FSA or Ari-Ben? Can I ever expect to instruct at FSA or would I have to hit the pavement and move again with my wife to find a CFI job? I need help, I need to learn from other people's expriences and opinions.

Two very different schools. Pick the one that you think will have the best environment for you to train in. I would not pick either based solely on instructing there afterwards. Though if this is critical to you then Ari-Ben might be a better option at the moment.

Personally, I think the practice of hiring students back into the school they attended is equivalent to inbreeding. But, we all need to eat, work, and find jobs. Many people on this site have the goal of flying for a living and making a reasonable amount of money. Being a CFI or a regional FO will not provide a comfortable living, but these jobs are flying jobs that will advance pilots towards their ultimate goals- flying and living well. Ari-Ben could advance me towards my ultimate goals more quickly- I would get more multi time and an opportunity to instruct. Specifically, what would I be missing by not attending FSA? (is there a tactical career advantage?) Are most FSA grads now aiming to instruct someplace other than FSA, and are they successful?