Film Research on Military UAV Operators

Unmanned

Dear UAV operators,

I am a graduate film student at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, CA, doing research for my upcoming short movie, UNMANNED, about an Air Force UAV operator (pilot or sensor operator) based on the West Coast and operating daily missions over the Middle East. The fictional film will focus on one character, a young guy (22) raised on video games, trained through the BETA fast track training programs, and married with a baby son. The film will look at the challenge of being at war by remote and balancing his work with his family life.

I am currently doing research for the script, gathering insight and personal experiences of real life UAV operators, especially those working remotely in the military. I am working to get on base to meet and interview pilots, but it's a very difficult and lengthy process. So, I would like to reach out to any military UAV operators here who might be willing to answer some of my questions and share any experiences or thoughts. All information gathered here will be anonymous and voluntary. I cannot pay for anybody's stories or answers, and will not be basing my script on anybody's personal lives. This is purely for me to understand the life of the UAV operator more clearly, and to present my story more accurately.

Here are the initial questions that I am interested in asking. Below is a more complete synopsis of the film. Thanks for your interest and insight.

QUESTIONS:
1. What compelled you to become a UAV operator? What is your specific job in the crew? What are your main tasks?
2. Have you ever served in combat overseas? How does this affect your experience of combat?
3. Were or are you a video gamer? What games? If so, how has that helped you in your job as a UAV pilot? Has it hindered your perception of war in any way?
4. What is the best part about your job?
5. What is the most challenging part of your job?