CFI Training and Checkride Write Up - SDL FSDO

Shiner

El Capitan
Passed my CFI initial checkride at the Scottsdale FSDO earlier today and thought I'd share my experiences getting this certificate with everyone.

Background:
I've been training at a Part 61 school out of SDL for the past 2 years. I called the FSDO and scheduled the ride a month in advance and worked my butt off to get ready. I owe a lot of gratitude to my instructors who were both extremely knowledgeable and thorough. I wouldn't have passed without their guidance.

Oral/Ground Preparation:
I made a lesson plan for each TASK in the CFI PTS. Writing the lesson plans and organizing all of the material helped me get a great feel for the information and develop a strategy to teach it. I based all of the information in the lessons on FAA reference materials (PHAK, AFH, FAR/AIM, Aviation Weather Services Book, Aircraft POH, etc). Before the checkride, I tabbed all of these references, so any information could be readily obtained. My instructors helped me with examples to use for certain lessons, additional knowledge, and evaluating my teaching ability. The whole process took a lot of time, but it has paid off greatly, as my knowledge feels so much deeper than before.

Flying Preparation:
I did about 7 flights over two to three weeks to get comfortable with flying in the right seat and evaluating my "students" performance. I did about half in a 172 SP and half in a 172 RG. I should have started with the RG from the beginning because it may have saved a flight or two. Watching and critiquing students can be a difficult skill to acquire and I overlooked this portion of CFI training before going through it.

The Oral: