Being Considered for Part 135 "Aircraft Dispatcher" job

newdispatcher23

Hello all,

As the title says, I am a recently certified dispatcher on the west coast who has been applying and looking for jobs. I am being considered for a "Dispatcher" role at a Part 135 company. The pay is good, the location good, and overall the company seems good. A bit of background about me . . . I am new to the field of aviation. I have strong experience in my previous field and a strong resume. I have been applying to all Part 121 flight operation jobs (mostly regionals as recommended by these forums) I have seen the last few months but no success; not even an interview. I do not have the luxury of waiting around and hoping for a Part 121 to hire me. I understand that if I get the job I will not be doing the work a dispatcher at a Part 121 does (I've read other similar posts on this forum and the company was very clear in explaining what my responsibilities would be). Are there cons to working at a Part 135 as my first job and then continuing to apply with hopes of transferring to a 121 operation?

Finally, I'd like to thank ya'll as this forum has helped me discover dispatching.

When I first got into dispatch, I went through a complete career change as an adult and living off regional pay would have been difficult. I started my dispatch career w/ a small international 121 supplemental airline (similar to a 135) about a month after I got my ticket. I spent about a year there, learned a ton and got a lot of really good experience. That being said the work was really difficult and stressful. Dxing was probably 10% of the job. The rest was secretary, data entry, non-stop-emails, station manager, etc. With only 11 months aviation experience, I was then able to get on w/ a 121 ULCC. Pay increased and responsibility increased while stress decreased.