Part 135 Opportunities

ilikeairplane

I am fairly new to the dispatch career and was wondering if any of you veteran dispatchers have any information on long term career opportunities for part 135 dispatchers? I am about to start at a part 135 dispatcher position (chose this over a regional 121 offer due to location, pay, and other personal factors) and know that if I eventually want to get hired by a 121 major airline I will have to eventually leave the 135 job and get 121 experience with either a 121 regional, ULCC, cargo before even having a shot at getting hired. But i was curious and had heard from some peers that there are some more obscure 135 jobs that can pay over 6 figures/compete with the legacy 121 pay scales. Something about managing the fleets and dispatching for big companies like JP Morgan or Home Depot that have their own fleets. Can anyone give any information on any possible lucrative 135 dispatcher career paths out there that people have pursued in the past? Thanks.

Never worked in a 135 operation. I know people who have and are now dispatching at a major without any 121 experience. So it is possible.
Only you can determine if being in a 135 career is for you. It isn't all about the money and travel benefits. Oh who am I kidding, yes it is!!!

Seriously, you have to determine what goals you want to achieve and the best way to attain them.

Don't underestimate the bridge that isn't crossed. 91/135 OPS got me started down the road to getting DX-licensed, after ramping at that same company before its FBO side went away. The experience was incredible, and helped me understand operations behind a simple "click-, click-, send" mentality some of us see(or become used to ourselves) daily in SOCs.